New Fifa Rankings… US still 12th

FIFA

FIFA

The newest Fifa rankings have been released and the US Mens National Team remains in the 12th spot.  Fifa reports that “USA (12th, unchanged) missed out on a place in the top ten following their resounding 5-0 loss to Mexico in the CONCACAF Gold Cup final in New Jersey.”

Of course the US team that was playing in the Meadowlands is not the real US Team that will be representing us in more important matches but more of a B/C team playing agianst an almost full strenth Mexican team.

Many people, including Alexi Lalas who is ESPN’s main soccer reporter who is quite vocal about this, find the Fifa Rankings to be worthless. I myself have many issues with the system including the facts that: it dosent factor in 1. strenth of opponent, margin of victory, strenth of own team, or signifcance of the game.  It also gives you no credit for a loss, weather it be a 2-3 loss to number 1 Brazil in the Gold Cup Final, or a 20-0 loss to Canada… Of course this does not mean that we do not want to do well in these rankings, as they are a sorce of pride and respect from the soccer world.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “New Fifa Rankings… US still 12th

  1. Jason B

    Do you need anyone to post on here occasionally. I know that many blogs usually see at least a few different people writing for them. U.S. soccer is one of my passions and have been playing my whole life. Just thought I would put it out there that I would be willing to help out since the site is new and all.

    • zbelair

      Yeah totally, if you find anything that I don’t have please put it up or leave a comment or tell me however. I want this to be a place where people can see everything US Soccer and be able to discuss it with other knowledgeable fans. I’m new to making a blog so I’m not sure how everything works/ is supposed to work but any additions would be great.

  2. JPerson

    For me I am looking for US player news overseas, some MLS highlights and just general discussion on the 2010 WC. So far it has been great!

    • zbelair

      Thanks for the reply! That’s great because those are some of the things I think are very under-reported but very interesting to us American Soccer fans!

Leave a Reply

